Lexipedia : A Cool 21st Century Tool… But What’s A Fuzzynym??


Have you ever found a new tool that was really neat, even though you didn’t understand it completely. I came across such a tool in the beta phase called Lexipedia. I think it is one that will especially be appealing to those teachers of Language Arts. Now for the part I did not understand, or better yet, I will include it in the post below.  Read on …  – Mike

There is no doubt that Lexipedia is a very cool tool! In fact it describes itself as a site “where words have meaning”. Upon inspection, I found that most words entered return a multiple list of definitions. Teachers attempting to convey parts of speech to their students are in for a real treat. Foreign language teachers (English, French, Dutch, Spanish, German, Italian) will be amazed to find a tool that can be used in their classrooms. Lexipedia does an amazing job of taking  each word entered and returning not just definitions.  It categorizes the words by parts of speech (noun, verb, adjective, and adverb). It then takes the parts of speech and tries to find relationships including  synonyms, antonyms and fuzzynyms. Hold on… “fuzzynyms”!

Yes, as I was typing the word fuzzynym in my post,  WordPress underlined “fuzzynym” with a big red line as if I had spelled it wrong!  There was no way I could spell a word wrong in my post!  My first thought was, “I am not an English major… so maybe I should look up “fuzzynym”!  I went to Merriam-Webster.com and asked for a definition …  momentarily it returned, “The word you’ve entered isn’t in the dictionary”. I then visited Wikipedia where someone must have an idea. I was amazed as Wikipedia returned “no result”. As I googled the word “fuzzynym” I was amazed to find 9,910 results. I could not find a site that gave a clear definition, but did find quite a few references to Lexipedia. Then it finally occurred to me; why not type the word “fuzzynym”  into Lexipedia? I entered the Lexipedia site with excitement and a sense of relief. I hit the letters on my keyboard f-u-z-z-y-n-y-m… I waited… The response appeared… NOTHING!

OK, I could not figure out a real definition for “fuzzynym”.  It does appears that it may be a word that is related, but does not fit the category of antonym or synonym. Regardless, Lexipedia is an fantastic site with great educational potential. It will  definitely help students with definitions and the understanding of parts of speech. It is an awesome tool that will facilitate young writers attempting to make their essays more interesting with a great data base of antonyms and synonyms.  I can even envision effective ways for teachers to incorporate Lexipedia into their lessons. It is time for you to take a moment to look at this powerful tool. Also, please leave a comment if you can help me better define  “fuzzynym”.

Thanks for stopping by and as always please follow me on Twitter (mjgormans), I will follow back and we will learn from each other. Also feel free to visit my 21centuryedtech Wiki filled with some amazing free resources for 21st century learning!  Have a wonderful week – Mike

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Lexipedia : A Cool 21st Century Tool… But What’s A Fuzzynym??

  1. Hi Mike! I also like Lexipedia. It is similar to Wordle but different too. You asked if anyone knew anything about ‘fuzzynyms’ so I wanted to share this link with you: http://bit.ly/fuzzynym
    Fuzzynyms are words that connect to other words but you just don’t understand them. To me it is kind of like reading a name or phrase on a license plate. You know there is a connection (alternym) to something but you just can’t figure it out (fuzzynym). Kind of cool but I haven’t heard about it much at all. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Anita,

    Always great to hear from you! Just got your comment as I am enjoying time in Arizona. Thanks so much for the link, I will give it a look! I agree that Lexipedia is an awesome site for educators and students! Looking forward to NECC and helping out with some of the great efforts you do with SIGOL! Again thanks for the reply and I will talk with you soon! Have a great week! = Mike

  3. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  4. Pingback: Most Tweeted Articles by Education Technology Experts

  5. Kornel Bangha

    Mike,

    The word “fuzzynym” seems to be a relatively new word so it is not surprising that we can not find it in dictionaries yet. I am sure it will be in Lexipedia soon and likely in other lexical resources as well.

    Please note however that Lexipedia does propose an explanation for “fuzzynym”. On the left side of the page, you see seven panes: four parts of speech and three relationships. At the top right corner of each pane, there is a question mark. When you point your mouse to the question mark next to the fuzzynym pane, a few lines will appear explaining what fuzzynyms are.

    I hope it helps,

    Kornel

    • Kornel,
      First, Lexipedia is an awesome tool! Thanks for reminding me that there is a definition of “fuzzynm” in the left panel. It really is a cool word and hope it does start appearing in various databases! I really appreciate your time pointing this out! Please continue to return and always feel free to leave a comment! I invite the opportunity to learn from everyone. Have a wonderful week! – Mike

  6. Thanks for the link – Mike

  7. Nikhita

    ‘n. a word having a loose or fuzzy semantic relation to another word; “The verbs ‘read’ and ‘write’ are fuzzynyms since both consist of actions that involve words”
    The lexipedia definition, if you’re still curious

Leave a comment