It’ True!: I Teach Because I Can’t Do Anything Else!


Welcome to a posting dedicated to a world of great educators. I hope you find this reflection one that you enjoy and share with others!  Please consider following me on twitter (@mjormans) and we can teach each other! Have a wonderful week! – Mike

Ok, so it’s true! I have spent thirty-two years teaching because I cannot do anything else! To be honest this is something I have recently learned,  something I did not know  when I  presented my very first classroom lesson! I actually  began my undergraduate career in the College of Business with an eye on marketing. In the early stages of my teaching career I became licensed to sell securities with the idea of becoming rich!  Little did I know that because I could only teach, I would find richness beyond monetary wealth! I dedicate this list of reasons to all of those great educators who teach, because they cannot do anything else!

I can’t be a banker or work in the financial business because while I might enjoy counting money and financial growth, I would rather count and measure the success of my students.

I can’t be a doctor or dentist because because while I enjoy seeing people smile as they leave and are healed, I get even more satisfaction if I see a smile when they first sit down.

I can’t be a professional athlete because while I do enjoy competition, I get even more satisfaction coaching young people to play each game with honor, integrity, and respect.

I can’t be a computer programmer because while creating new digital applications is exciting, finding ways to integrate technology to inspire real learning is rewarding.

I can’t work in agriculture or landscaping because while supplying food and natural beauty is appreciated by all, I enjoy planting seeds of life-long learning knowing that it will nourish one’s life.

I can’t work as a cook or chef because while I appreciate the art in a great meal, I most enjoy finding just the right ingredients that allow for a child’s success.

I can’t work in sales or marketing because even though I have learned from their great people skills, I would rather sell students on their abilities and possibilities.

I can’t be a pilot even though I appreciate them as I travel to new places, as I would rather facilitate young people as they climb in altitude and arrive at new destinations.

I can’t be an artist despite my appreciation for the beauty they bring,as I have found that my art is the ability to inspire and nurture children as they discover their innate abilities.

I can’t be a scientist or inventor because, while am aware of the great advances they bring, I wish to create  innovative learning experiences that always end in success.

I could go on and on! As you can see, I really do appreciate all of the other professions and realize there are so many more I can’t do. After all, as teachers we really are preparing students for what they will do best in the world. Possibly in the future those we teach will not be able to do anything else, because we have assisted them them in becoming the very best at what they do!  As I continue my journey I have expanded my teaching horizon and understand that genuine educators, whether they be teachers, administrators, or educational consultants, continue to teach and inspire others, because they really can’t do anything else.

Thanks for joining me on another journey dedicated to learning in the 21st Century! As always I invite you to follow me on Twitter (@mjgormans), I will return the favor and we can teach each other! I also encourage you to visit my 21centuryedtech Wiki! I will keep  sharing, teaching, and facilitating all learners, after all, I can’t do anything else! – Mike

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “It’ True!: I Teach Because I Can’t Do Anything Else!

  1. Alice Barr

    And yet, you are probably ALL of these things by being a teacher and modeling for your students! Thanks for sharing, great post!

    • Alice,

      You are so right that we are all of these things. I was going to include that idea, but thought I may go to long! Thank you for presenting that idea! I know from your blog and your work at Seedlings that you are a very special teacher! Thanks so much for sharing and inspiring all of us! – Mike

  2. Michael- thanks for a great post. Totally agree, I also started teaching in 1978 and when people ask why I am still doing it, I say “there must be something good about it!” just one or two students every so often who ‘get it’, or the great concert I attended this week which has enabled me to praise students for skills I didn’t know they have, and …. oh well, like you, I could go on and one. We all have days that are not quite so good (in any job, I guess) but in teaching, the good definitely vastly outnumber the rest…
    Jan

    • Jan,

      Thanks for sharing! It is evident that you have made an impression on over 30 years of children. I am sure that your work gets stronger and more influential every year, which means the best is yet to come! I am glad you decided to do nothing else! Enjoy and thanks for sharing – Mike

  3. A true proof of the old Persian saying, “our lives teach us who we are…”. Well put!

    David

    • David,

      Thanks for sharing that reflection! I read it several times, each time thinking “what a powerful thought in just seven words”. In makes the rest of the journey even more exciting! I appreciate hearing from you! – Mike

  4. Terrific post. Finally I will have a great response to those who say, “Those who can’t do, teach.” (Insert cringe here.)

    http://specialtechk2.blogspot.com

  5. Jennifer,

    Thanks for the reply and comment. I enjoyed looking at your blog and seeing the awesome service you are doing for our students! I am glad I had chance to give you a reply that you will find useful! Keep up the great blogging! – Mike

  6. Lovely post! Thank you.

    I checked on “our lives teach us who we are” and it appears to be Salman Rushdie who said it.

  7. Thanks for this inspiring post. I look forward to reading more!
    Rick

  8. I teach because I believe that I am part of the village and it takes a village to raise a child. Thanks for your inspiration.

    • I teach because I believe that I am part of the village and it takes a village to raise a child. Thanks for your inspiration. Thanks for being part of the village.

      • Cheryl,

        I always enjoy your insight! I am glad we can share our professional journeys together! Keep up the great work at Seedlings and hope you have me back for a visit some day. Now, lets get on with building and sustaining that village! Again thanks, – Mike

  9. To those who say we can’t I am tempted to hand them an application to be a substitute for me, give them two weeks.

    Then tell them that they are to lead an online conference discussing topics for our next unit on video creation, oh, and they are to maintain our Moodle server, help other teachers with technology and deal with technical problems that crop up from day to day.

    • Carl,

      You are so right! We all need to appreciate what others educators in our profession do, and then only hope those outside can respect our work! Perhaps we need to spend a little more time bragging about each other! Thanks for the reply – Mike

  10. A wonderful post. Oddly I wanted to be other things when I started out (pilot, engineer, business tycoon to name a few), now I can’t imagine doing anything else. I think that journey has helped make me a better, more prepared teacher. Even if, at times, I find it a little exasperating, nothing compares to the joy of smiles, graduation, laughter, and humour of my students.

  11. In the end you are a member of a noble profession and I am honored to be a fellow educator with you! Keep up the awesome outlook and I am sure the years will get better and better! Thanks for reading and please come back! – Mike

  12. Thank you, Mike. I had read your post yesterday, but was too busy to comment. I was in the Elluminate room of the Sir Ken Robinson interview with Steve Hargadon this evening when you put the link in the chat room. I decided to take some time to add a comment this time around.

    Like you I have taught for over 30 years. I love being a teacher more now than ever thanks to the technology integration that I am able to do. Learning alongside my fourth graders is one of the greatest joys in my life. I teach because it is my passion.

  13. Paula,

    Sir Ken Robinson’s thoughts on passion were thought provoking. It is awesome to meet another educator who is still excited about education after 30 years. As with you, the technology integration has been a big part. I love the smiles and real learning I see take place! Your students are lucky to have a teacher who can bring so much and it sounds like you are fortunate that you can still learn from a fourth grader. Its this culture that creates life long learning and fuels a real passion! – Thanks and please return – Mike

  14. Pingback: links for 2010-04-25 « Teaching Miss Cheska

Leave a Reply

